Chairpersons for MPP, MPKS, MCC and SDC remain unchanged, SMC not decided yet

Signature. — file pic. // Photo: Pixabay

By Lian Cheng

KUCHING, July 11: There will be no change in the chairpersons of Padawan Municipal Council (MPP), Kota Samarahan Municipal Council (MPKS), Miri City Council (MCC) and Sarikei District Council (SDC).

The highly speculated upon chairperson post for Sibu Municipal Council will remain vacant for the time being, a source told DayakDaily.

That means Batu Kitang assemblyman Lo Khere Chiang is again appointed to lead MPP; while Datuk Peter Minos will continue to be Walikota of MPKS.

MCC will continue to be headed by Adam Yii and Wong Zee Yeng will be heading SDC as she did for the past years.

These appointments will be for two years.

Excluding the mayorships of Kuching South City Hall (MBKS) and Kuching North City Hall (DBKU), the terms for the chairpersons and councillors of all 24 councils in Sarawak expired on June 30.

It has been thus prominent that a new batch of about 700 councillors and their chairpersons would be soon appointed to ensure the smooth running of the daily operations of the local government.

Due to the urgency, the matter was discussed in the state cabinet meeting this morning.

As of press time, it is said that the councillor appointment list is 98 per cent finalised as some names were added in at the last minute. — DayakDaily