Bersatu to reveal Sarawak committee lineup soon, awaiting RoS approval for all divisions

Zakaria (seated centre) speaking to reporters after chairing a meeting with some division chiefs this afternoon (June 20, 2019).

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

KUCHING, June 20: The state Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu) is expected to reveal its state committee lineup soon after all of its 31 divisions have been set up.

The party’s state operations director Zakaria Bujang said to date, the Registrar of Societies (RoS) had approved six divisions and their respective chiefs, which are Samarahan, Stampin, Sri Aman, Saratok, Bintulu and Santubong, and six more have been submitted to RoS to be approved.

All in all, he said the state Bersatu is targeting to have 31 state divisions – one division per Parliamentary seat – and all would be registered, and will be up and running “soon”.

Asked on the state committee lineup, Zakaria said it would be up to the president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin to announce, while pointing out that they have already submitted some names to the president.

Pressed on if they have also fielded names of candidates for the coming state election due by 2021, he said they had some names in mind, but pointed out that the selection would be up to Muhyiddin.

“At the moment we have no intention to contest in the coming state election. We are now focusing on strengthening the party’s presence in the state, strengthening our membership and helping other Pakatan Harapan (PH) parties in the state,” Zakaria stressed.

Targeting recruitment of at least 1,000 members per division, he said the state Bersatu is aiming to have at least 31,000 members statewide once all the 31 divisions are up and running.

He is very optimistic that the state Bersatu would be able to gain many more members than the target.

“At the moment we have about 10,700 registered members, and many more applications still being processed,” said Zakaria. — DayakDaily