Ahmad Ibrahim elected as Senator to represent Sarawak

Datuk Ahmad Ibrahim

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Nur Ashikin Louis

KUCHING, May 18: The Sarawak State Legislative Assembly (DUN) today has approved a motion to elect Padawan Municipal Council (MPP) deputy chairman Dato Ahmad Ibrahim as a Senator to represent the State.

Ahmad will be replacing Dr Zaiedi Suhaili whose second term as a Senator will expire this coming July 18.

The motion was proposed by Sarawak Minister for Tourism, Creative Industry and Performing Arts, Dato Sri Abdul Karim Rahman Hamzah and supported by Sarawak Minister for Education, Innovation and Talent Development, Datuk Roland Sagah Wee Inn, before being passed.

When contacted, Ahmad told DayakDaily that this might be a first for a local council in Sarawak to have two elected representatives and one Senator in office at the same time.

He also expressed his gratitude to everyone who had shown support to him including the praises from MPP chairman-cum-Batu Kitang assemblyman Lo Khere Chiang and the team.

“I have not yet received any directive on the passing of baton to a new deputy chairman (of MPP). At the moment, we will carry on as usual,” he said via a WhatsApp voice note today.

Ahmad, 53, was born in St Joseph Hospital, Kanowit. He had his early education at St Joseph Kuching and SMK Serian before furthering his studies at Ashbury College, Ottawa, Canada.

He was a graduate from Saint Francis University, California, United States with a Bachelor of Science with an emphasis in International Business and Finance (BBA) in 1995.

He had served in the field of stock trading in Sarawak Securities Sdn Bhd which is presently known as Kenanga Investment Bank before venturing into commercial banking for 16 years at Bank Utama Berhad or presently known as RHB Bank. His last position was executive vice president, head strategic planning division and head of East Malaysia and Brunei Division.

Apart from that, Ahmad is also an exco member of Sarawak National Youth Organisation (Saberkas) for two terms, deputy chairman of Saberkas Batu Kitang branch for six years, Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) exco member for a year and PBB Batu Kawah branch chief for 13 years.

He is also a patron of the Sarawak Junior Golf Association, an exco member of Sarawak Taekwondo Federation, patron of Sarawak Automative Racing Sports Association (SARSA) and president of Sarawak Motorsports Association. — DayakDaily