Agong names Anwar Ibrahim as Malaysia’s 10th Prime Minister

Dato Seri Anwar Ibrahim. Photo from Anwar Ibrahim's Facebook page.

KUCHING, Nov 24: The Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah has named Pakatan Harapan (PH) chairman Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim as Malaysia’s 10th Prime Minister.

In a statement today, Istana Negara Comptroller Dato Seri Ahmad Fadil Shamsuddin said this decision was made following His Majesty’s meeting with the Malay rulers.

“The next process will be the appointment ceremony followed by the loyalty oath and secrecy oath-taking ceremony as prime minister which are scheduled to take place at 5pm later today at Istana Negara,” he said.

With that, the King affirmed that Malaysia as a country is akin to an inheritance that should be protected by its leaders for it will in the future be passed on to the younger generation. — DayakDaily