Abang Johari: Road accessibility for entire Batang Rajang region by 2024

Abang Johari (front row, third left) and other dignitaries giving their thumbs-up at the event in Kapit today (Oct 4, 2020). Also seen are (front row, from left) Wilson Nyabong, Nanta, Masing, Abdul Karim and Jefferson. Standing behind (from right) are Juanda and Liwan.

KAPIT, Oct 4: The entire Batang Rajang area will be connected by road by 2024, revealed Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg.

Speaking at the official launching ceremony of the Kapit Town Square today, he said these areas include those located downstream of the Batang Rajang to upstream of Ulu Batang Rajang.

“There are many rivers along the downstream areas. For this, we have to build bridges before we can connect the roads.

“Now Matu-Daro-Mukah-Tanjung Manis-Igan-Sibu-Kanowit-Song-Kapit are connected. Soon, Kapit-Sungai Mujong-Baleh-Belaga-Bintulu will also be connected by roads,” Abang Johari explained. This was welcomed with loud cheers and support from scores of Kapit folks at the launching here today.

The chief minister is scheduled to visit the Nanga Mujong bridge tomorrow morning as part of his two-day working visit to Kapit. Earlier, he had arrived in the town on a high-powered motorcycle as part of a convoy from Sibu.

During his speech, Abang Johari added that the Sarawak government under Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) has always been fair and square when it comes to channeling projects that were meant to benefit every Sarawakian, including road infrastructure projects.

Among those present at the launching were Deputy Chief Minister Tan Sri Datuk Amar Dr James Jemut Masing; Federal Minister for Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Datuk Alexander Nanta Linggi; Tourism, Arts, Culture, Youth and Sports Minister Datuk Abdul Karim Rahman Hamzah; State Secretary Datuk Amar Jaul Samion; Assistant Minister for Utilities Datuk Liwan Lagang; Assistant Minister for Infrastructure and Port Development Datuk Julaihi Narawi, Assistant Minister for Youth and Sports Datuk Snowdan Lawan, Pelagus assemblyman Wilson Nyabong Ijang, Bukit Goram assemblyman Jefferson Jamit Unyat and Jemoreng assemblyman Datuk Dr Juanda Jaya. — DayakDaily