Abang Johari launches RM7-mil State-funded access road, drainage project to Phase 1 Hulu Kabong Village Expansion Scheme

Abang Johari (second left) together with other distinguished guests in a group photo after performing the groundbreaking ceremony. Photos: Ukas

By Karen Bong

KUCHING, Nov 26: Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg broke the ground on the RM7-million State-funded project to construct an 810-metre access road and drainage to Phase 1 of Hulu Kabong Village Expansion Scheme at the site in Betong today.

Construction is expected to start next month with completion scheduled in July 2023.


When completed, the project will improve road safety and provide another alternative road to residents who will be residing in the village scheme located about 500 metres from Kabong town.

According to the project brief, Phase 1 of the Hulu Kabong Village Expansion Scheme extending across a total area of 61 acres was implemented on Aug 29, 2019 and is expected to be completed sometime this month.

With approved State government funding of RM30 million, the scheme was planned to meet the increasing housing needs of existing villagers and to resolve the congested and unorganised distribution of houses.

It will comprise 200 housing lots, a Sesco substation, a commercial and cottage industry site, a surau, a kindergarten, open space as well as an access road.

A total of 50 of the 200 housing lots will be developed by Housing Development Corporation under the Permata Spektra Housing Programme as People’s Project.

Abang Johari signs a plaque as a symbolic gesture to mark the commencement of the access road construction.

Apart from the Phase 1 Hulu Kabong Village Expansion Scheme, there are seven other village expansion scheme projects in Kabong District alone that aim to provide 882 housing lots, out of which 433 lots have been allocated as of Nov 20 this year.

In Betong Division, the Sarawak government has also implemented a resettlement scheme with 189 housing lots which have all been allocated.

There are also 20 Village Expansion Scheme projects to provide a total of 2,729 housing lots, out of which 1,512 lots have been allocated.

Deputy State Secretary (Socio-Economic Transformation) Dato Sri Mohamad Abu Bakar Marzuki; Ministry of Urban Development and Natural Resources permanent secretary Datu Sr Zaidi Mahdi; Land and Survey Department Sarawak director Abdullah Julaihi, Kabong incumbent Mohd Chee Kadir; Layar incumbent Dato Gerald Rentap Jabu; Kabong District Officer Mohd Rashdan Azemi; Betong Division Resident Richard Micheal Abunawas; and Economic Planning Unit (EPU) Sarawak director Datu Dr Muhammad Abdullah Zaidel were present at the event. — DayakDaily

Location map of the project site and surrounding area.