84 areas in Central Region face flood risk, residents urged to exercise caution

Janggan Muling

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By William Isau

SIBU, Dec 27: A total of 84 areas in the Central Region have been identified as at risk of flooding during the northeast monsoon by Malaysia Fire and Rescue Department (JBPM) Zone 4 Sarawak.

Sarawak Zone 4 Fire Chief Janggan Muling in a statement today said these areas involved Sarikei, Bintangor, Sibu, Kanowit, Selangau, Daro and Song districts.

Janggan said, his stations (BBPs) as well as JPBM assets are already in a state of readiness to face the Northeast monsoon transition which is expected to hit soon.

“Besides that, at least 22 Temporary Evacuation Centres are ready to be activated to face disasters.

“Residents in these districts are advised to be prepared and exercise caution and awareness over the current situation,” he said.

Janggan said Sibu has 16 areas at risk of flooding, followed by Sarikei (6), Bintangor (21), Kanowit (10), Daro (10), Song (9) and Selangau (12).

The areas in Sibu involve the old town of Sungai Merah, Lorong Ding Lik Kong 11, Kampung Bahagia Jaya, Jalan Teng Chin Hua, Taman Desa Satria, Taman Indah Sibu, Jalan Ling Kai Cheng and Jalan Bandong which are located under the supervision of the Sungai Merah Fire and Rescue Station (BBP).

Other areas under the control of BBP Sibu Central are Jalan Salim Sentosa, Jalan Selangan, Jalan Lanang, Kampung Hilir, Kampung Datu and Kampung Nangka.

“BBP Selangau will monitor the areas of Kampung Melinau Baru, Rh Ambrose Ramping, SK Sungai Buloh, Kampung Engkabang, Kampung Rian, SK Nanga Selangau, SK Kua and SK Engkerebai.

“For the Daro area, BBP Daro will monitor the areas in Kampung Kuala Matu, Kampung Jemoreng, Kampung Tian, ​​Kampung Sekaan, Pekan Lama Matu, Kampung Tengah, Kampung Pangthray, Kampung Tebaang, Kampung Lemang Pek and Kampung Ulu Daro,” he explained.

BBP Sarikei, he said, will monitor the areas of Bayong Ulu Sarikei, SK Baron, Kampung Seberang Sarikei, Kampung Baji, Jalan Exora and Jalan Cempaka.

Meanwhile, Janggan said BBP Song would monitor Kampung Sejiran, Kampung Nang Beguang, Kampung Sejiran, Rh Belang Sungai Iran, Jalan Mission Government Quarters, Kampung Gelam, Kampung Rian Jalan Takan, Rh Kulleh Nanga Embuau and Rh Kelu Nanga Linau.

He said this was followed by BBP Kanowit which will be responsible for SK Ulu Balingiau, SK Nanga Neruk, Jalan Ladang Bawan, SK Ulu Poi, SK Ulu Machan, Rh Usup Nanga Seleruh in Machan, Jalan Lukut/Penyulau, Jalan Rantau Kemiding, Pekan Kanowit and Pekan Machan .

“BBP Bintangor is responsible for Bintangor town, Mador Hilir, Kampung Bintangor, Kampung Abang Amin, Kampung Abang Ali, Kampung Gelam, Kampung Muhhibah, Ulu Binatang area, Nanga Strass, SK Strass, Lemoyang, Gemuan, Nanga Lasi, Julau town, Kampuang Rambutan , Nanga Buku and Nanga Kedup/Nanga Wak,” said Janggan, adding that the department would focus more on moving personnel to the affected locations in the event of unusual floods, including unexpected floods. — DayakDaily