7,477 Felcra participants in Sarawak receive dividends worth RM31.6 million

Mahdzir (second left) presents a mock cheque to a Felcra participant while other dignitaries look on at the event.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Nur Ashikin Louis

KUCHING, Dec 5: Felcra Berhad has distributed dividends amounting to RM31.6 million to its participants in Sarawak for the Interim 1 and 2 periods of 2021.

Rural Development Minister Datuk Seri Mahdzir Khalid said a total of 7,477 Felcra participants in Sarawak benefitted from the profit distribution.

“We expect to disburse the profit distribution for the third interim period by early next year which would amount to RM15 million,” he said.

He revealed this at a press conference after officiating at a Sarawak Felcra thanksgiving ceremony at the National Institute of Public Administration (Intan) Sarawak campus in Kota Samarahan today.

Felcra has 18 areas in Sarawak with participants totalling 9,600 heads of household.

Mahdzir also said the federal government had approved allocations for Felcra Berhad for the development of social amenities in Sarawak amounting to RM1.77 million.

“Of the total, RM770,000 are allocated for projects implemented this year and RM1 million for next year,” he said.

He also said the ministry remains committed in implementing road infrastructure projects, water supply, electricity, education and health facilities, social amenities and Internet access through implementing agencies such as Felcra and other agencies under its supervision.

When asked about Felcra’s plans for Sarawak next year, Mahdzir said the organisation will focus on expediting the disbursement of dividend payments to participants.

“We do not want to wait like what is happening right now. We want it (disbursement) to be carried out in sequence based on the first, second and third quarters in a one year period. Insya-Allah that can be done in Sarawak,” he added.

Also present were Rural Development II Deputy Minister Datuk Hasbi Habibollah, Kota Samarahan MP Rubiah Awang, Felcra Berhad chairman Datuk Ahmad Jazlan Yaakub and the ministry’s secretary-general Datuk Ramlan Harun. — DayakDaily