62 new Covid-19 cases in 2 longhouses at Sungai Suchong Balut, Julau sparks new community cluster

File photo for illustration purposes. Photo credit: Pixabay

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

KUCHING, Sept 10: Sarawak announced one community cluster today involving two longhouses at Sungai Suchong Balut in Julau after 62 people tested positive for Covid-19.

The State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC), in its daily update on the Covid-19 situation in Sarawak, reported that a total of 78 individuals linked to the Suchong Balut Cluster have been tested, out of which 12 have tested negative for the virus while three are still awaiting lab test results.

All positive cases have been referred to either the Sarikei Hospital or the Quarantine and Low-Risk Treatment Centre (PKRC) Sarikei for treatment and isolation.

SDMC also declared the end of seven clusters today with one in Saratok named the Dabai Baruh Cluster and six in Kuching – the Jalan Sungai Maong Cluster, Kampung Tupong Cluster, Jalan Foochow Cluster, Besi Dua Cluster, Stapok 2 Resettlement Scheme Cluster and Jalan Rubber Dua Cluster, after no new local cases were reported in the past 28 days.

With that, the number of active clusters in Sarawak has decreased to 141, out of which 24 clusters registered an increase in infections with a total of 208 cases contributing to today’s daily caseload of 3,734 cases.

The existing active cluster that logged the most cases is the Lukut Bukut Cluster in Mukah, which added 47 more cases to take the cluster’s total to 243, out of which 131 are still active cases.

Six clusters saw a double-digit increase in cases, namely the KM20 Jalan Betong Cluster in Betong with 46 cases; Esebang Plaie Cluster in Serian (22 cases), Long Urun Cluster in Belaga (15 cases), Jalan Usaha Jaya Dua Cluster in Kuching (14 cases), Bungey 2 Cluster in Betong (11 cases) and Nansang Tugong Cluster in Pakan (10 cases).

The remaining clusters that added more cases are Pasar Matu Cluster in Mukah (9 cases); Tanjong Kibong 2 Cluster in Sibu (5 cases); Duras Cluster in Serian and Merajang Cluster in Limbang (4 cases each); Industry Jalan Semaba Cluster in Kuching, Maxbi Libai Cluster in Subis, Sawit Gelasah Cluster in Subis and Jalan Bintulu-Miri Dua Cluster in Bintulu (3 cases each); while Belinggai Ulu Niah Cluster in Subis, Jalan Masuri Cluster in Sibu, Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman Cluster in Sibu, Jero Gelasah Cluster in Subis, Kampung Simpok Cluster in Serian, Mapu Cluster in Tebedu, Menuang Baru Cluster in Limbang, Nangga Tapih Cluster in Betong and Plaman Bantang Cluster in Serian added one case each. — DayakDaily