2 new Covid-19 clusters in Serian: Kg Mongkos redeclared with 22 cases, Tebakang Dayak Cluster 18 cases

KUCHING, June 19:  Kampung Mongkos in Tebedu has been re-declared a place with Covid-19 cluster just five days after the first cluster ended as re-infections have occurred and resulted in 22 positive cases so far.

Sarawak has identified three new Covid-19 clusters today out of which two are in Serian.  Apart from the Kampung Mongkos Cluster, the other cluster in Serian is Tebakang Dayak Cluster which has been registered 18 positive cases.

A third cluster with 20 cases was also identified in Meradong which has been dubbed the Sungai Banun Cluster.

State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC), in its daily updates on Covid-19 situation in Sarawak, reported that Mongkos 2 Cluster involved a settlement at Kampung Mongkos in Tebedu which is of the same locality with the first Mongkos Cluster declared ended on June 14.

The Mongkos 1 Cluster was declared following the identification of 56 Covid-19 cases but after 28 days of no emerging new cases,  SDMC had declared the ending of the cluster.

The second Mongkos 2 Cluster has stemmed from social movement with infections spread among family members and social contacts with the positive cases.  A total of 70 individuals have been screened, whereby 34 tested negative and 14 are still awaiting lab test results.

The Tebakang Dayak Cluster, SDMC disclosed, was a community cluster involving a settlement at the Ntagen Asai Kampung Tebakang Dayak zone with 18 cases so far.

A total of 95 individuals have been screened, whereby 52 tested positive while 25 are still awaiting results.

All the positive cases from the Mongkos 2 and Tebakang Dayak Clusters have been admitted to Sarawak General Hospital (SGH) as well as Quarantine and Low-Risk Treatment Centre (PKRC) Serian for treatment and isolation.

The State Health Department has also declared the end of Nanga Tajam Cluster in Selangau today after no new cases were reported in the past 28 days.

With that, the number of active clusters in Sarawak now stands at 95, out of which 15 clusters have recorded an increase in daily infections of 141 cases.

They were Sungai Sentebu Cluster in Sarikei which added 68 more cases, Muara Tabuan Cluster in Kuching (18 cases), Sungai Banun Cluster in Meradong (17 cases), Gran Stumbin Cluster in Sri Aman and Kampung Sebandi Hilir Cluster in Lundu (7 cases each), Tebakang Dayak Cluster in Serian (5 cases), Skim B Cluster in Meradong and Putai Cluster in Bukit Mabong (4 cases each), Kampung Serikin Cluster in Bau (3 cases), Jalan Tanjung Kidurong 3 Cluster in Bintulu and Sungai Durin Cluster in Sibu (2 cases each), while Sawai Niah Cluster in Subis, Banting Cluster in Sri Aman, Sungai Selangan Cluster in Sarikei and Mongkos 2 Cluster in Tebedu has one case each. — DayakDaily