154 receive honours and awards from TYT in Miri

Taib Mahmud and wife (seated middle) pose for a group photo with some of the award recipients.

KUCHING, Oct 28: A total of 154 recipients have been conferred awards and medals by Tuan Yang Terutama (TYT) Yang di-Pertuan Negeri Sarawak Tun Pehin Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud at Miri Mega Hotel yesterday (Oct 27).

Leading the list of recipients was Sarawak Sewerage Services Department director Datu Lau Hieng Ung who was awarded the ‘Darjah Jasa Bakti Sarawak’ (DJBS) which allows him to carry the title of Datu, according to a news report by Sarawak Public Communication Unit (Ukas).

Also receiving the title of Dato through ‘Darjah Yang Amat Mulia Bintang Sarawak Panglima Setia Bintang Sarawak’ (PSBS) was Human Rights Commission of Malaysia (Suhakam) commissioner Dr Madeline Berma.


Meanwhile, seven was granted the ‘Darjah Yang Amat Mulia Bintang Sarawak Pegawai Bintang Sarawak’ (PBS) led by Councillor Kho Teck Wan while Kapten Clarence Ruman led another 10 in receiving the ‘Darjah Utama Yang Amat Mulia Bintang Kenyalang Sarawak Pegawai Bintang Kenyalang’ (PBK).

The ‘Pingat Pentadbiran Awam Pingat Perkhidmatan Bakti (Perak)’ (PPB), ‘Darjah Yang Amat Mulia Bintang Sarawak Ahli Bintang Sarawak’ (ABS), ‘Darjah Yang Amat Mulia Bintang Kenyalang Sarawak Ahli Bintang Kenyalang’ (ABK), ‘Pingat Pentadbiran Awam Pingat Perkhidmatan Terpuji (Gangsa)’ (PPT), and ‘Darjah Yang Amat Mulia Bintang Sarawak Pingat Bentara Bintang Sarawak’ (BBS) also saw nine, 31, 21, 24 and 50 recipients, respectively.

Also present were Toh Puan Datuk Patinggi Raghad Kurdi Taib, Sarawak Minister of Transport Dato Sri Lee Kim Shin, Assistant Minister of Agriculture Modernization, Customary Lands and Sarawak Regional Development Datuk Dr Abdul Rahman Ismail, Sarawak Assistant Minister of Women, Family and Child Development Datuk Rosey Yunus, Sarawak State Secretary Datuk Amar Jaul Samion and Lambir assemblyman Ripin Lamat. — DayakDaily