11 active clusters record 38 new Covid-19 cases; 9 clusters ended

File photo for illustration purposes. Photo credit: Pixabay

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Karen Bong

KUCHING, Oct 8: A total of 11 active clusters has recorded 38 new Covid-19 cases while nine clusters were declared closed today.

With that, the number of active clusters in Sarawak has decreased to 80.

State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC), in its daily updates on Covid-19 situation in Sarawak today, reported that Tembok Limbang Cluster added eight more cases while Sepanggah Cluster and Kampung Segedup Cluster added seven cases each.

The remaining clusters that saw an increase in infections were Bungey 2 Cluster and Long Urun Cluster (4 cases each); Jalan Usaha Jaya Dua Cluster and Kampung Lintang Baru (2 cases each); while Duras Cluster, Mapu Cluster, Sibuluh-Nowang Cluster and Tanah Mawang Cluster picked up one case each.

Meanwhile, SDMC also declared the end of nine clusters, after they registered zero new local cases in the past 28 days.

They were Nansang Tugong Cluster and Sungai Sawa Cluster, both in Pakan; Jero Gelasah Cluster and Maxbi Libai Cluster, both in Subis; Merajang Cluster in Limbang; Nanga Tapih Cluster in Betong, Jalan Bintulu-Miri Dua Cluster in Bintulu; as well as Jalan Masuri Cluster and Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman Cluster, both in Sibu.

As of yesterday (Oct 7), there was a total of 26,599 active cases in Sarawak, out of which 21,871 or 82.2 per cent are under home quarantine.

A total of 3,565 or 13.4 per cent is in Quarantine and Low-Risk Treatment Centres (PKRCs), 1,045 patients (3.9 per cent) are hospitalised, 70 patients (0.3 per cent) are in intensive care units (ICUs) unventilated and 48 patients (0.2 per cent) are in ICUs requiring ventilator support. — DayakDaily