UK, China, Taiwan, Singapore, South Korea citizens top 5 wanting to stay in Sarawak

A screengrab of Abdul Karim delivering his winding-up speech during the DUN sitting today (May 25, 2022) taken from a Sarawak Public Communications Unit (Ukas) livestream on Facebook.

By Ling Hui

KUCHING, May 25: Citizens of United Kingdom, China, Taiwan, Singapore and South Korea are the top five nationalities in Sarawak’s Malaysia My Second Home (S-MM2H) programme.

Minister of Tourism, Creative Industry and Performing Arts Dato Sri Abdul Karim Rahman Hamzah said Sarawak has received a total of 231 S-MM2H applications to-date, with 94 received in 2021.

“In January 2007, Sarawak started to adopt the MM2H programme with modified criteria and requirements. For the past 14 years (2007-2020), we received a total number of 1,306 participants into this programme.

“My ministry has enhanced regulations and requirements for S-MM2H effective Sept 1, 2020. After the implementation of the new guidelines, we received five applications in 2020,” he said.

Abdul Karim revealed this when delivering his ministerial winding-up speech at the Sarawak Legislative Assembly (DUN) sitting here today.

S-MM2H is a programme by the Ministry of Tourism, Creative Industry and Performing Arts to attract visitors for long-term stays in Sarawak. — DayakDaily