Two more Covid-19 clusters identified in Bintulu linked to workers’ quarters, longhouse with total 57 cases

Covid-19 (File photo)

KUCHING, June 16: Two new Covid-19 clusters have emerged in Bintulu, dubbed the Jalan Tanjung Kidurong 3 Cluster linked to a transportation agency company’s workers quarters with 33 positive cases and the Jalan Bintulu-Tatau Cluster involving a longhouse with 24 cases.

The State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC), in its daily updates on Covid-19 situation in Sarawak, reported that both clusters stemmed from social movement and close contacts among the people.

The Jalan Tanjung Kidurong 3 Cluster involved the workers quarters of a transportation agency company located at Jalan Kidurong.

As of today, a total of 102 individuals have been screened whereby 69 tested negative while no results were pending.

As for Jalan Bintulu-Tatau Cluster, it was a community cluster involving a longhouse at Jalan Bintulu-Tatau.

A total of 151 individuals have been screened whereby 82 tested negative while 45 are still awaiting for lab test results.

All positive cases from these two clusters have been admitted to Bintulu Hospital and Quarantine and Low-Risk Treatment Centre (PKRC) Bintulu for isolation and treatment.

SDMC informed that both the localities have also been placed under the Enhanced Movement Control Order (EMCO) for two weeks.

Meanwhile, Sarawak declared three new Covid-19 clusters today with one identified in Sri Aman dubbed the Gran Stumbin Cluster which stemmed from a funeral ceremony involving a few longhouses with 82 people infected and one death reported.

The State Health Department has also today declared the end of the Rayang Cluster in Serian after no new cases were reported in the past 28 days.

With that, the total number of active clusters in Sarawak now stood at 88, out of which eight clusters reported an increase in daily infections with 14 more cases.

They are Kampung Kolong 2 Cluster in Kuching which picked up three more cases, while Banting Cluster in Sri Aman, Ijus Pengelayan Cluster in Miri, Muara Tabuan Cluster in Kuching and Putai Cluster in Bukit Mabong (2 cases each), as well as Jalan Jambusan Sunchar Cluster in Bau, Jalan Coastal Bintulu-Miri Cluster in Bintulu and Emperan Cluster in Selangau added one more case each. — DayakDaily