Two Covid-19 clusters down, six more remain in Sarawak

Covid-19 (file photo).

By Ling Hui

KUCHING, Nov 18: With two more Covid-19 clusters declared ended today, there are only six active clusters left in Sarawak.

According to the State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC), the two clusters that recorded zero cases after 28 consecutive days were the Pinang Jawa Cluster and Giam Cluster, both in Kuching.

No new clusters have emerged and the remaining active clusters continue to register zero related cases.

Meanwhile, Sarawak recorded 311 new infections today with 301 cases in mild Categories 1 and 2, and 10 in the more critical Categories 3, 4 and 5.

Further breaking it down, there were 110 Category 1 cases, 191 in Category 2, zero cases in Category 3, seven in Category 4, and three in Category 5.

By district, Kuching remained in top place, registering 112 cases, followed by Miri (39), Serian (19), Sibu (18), Bintulu (18), Lawas (14), Betong (13), and Limbang (13).

Other districts with new infections are Mukah, Samarahan (8 cases each), Sri Aman (7 cases), Pusa (6 cases), Sarikei, Simunjan, Bau (5 cases each), Lundu, Subis (3 cases each), Meradong, Pakan, Selangau (2 cases each), Belaga, Saratok, Kapit, Dalat, Matu, Telang Usan, Kanowit, Beluru, and Kabong (1 case each).

The cumulative number of Covid-19 cases in Sarawak thus has increased to 248,544 as of today. — DayakDaily