SUPP to contest 20 seats in 12th PRN

Datuk Sebastian Ting has tested positive for Covid-19.

By Adrian Lim

KUCHING, May 28: Sarawak United Peoples’ Party (SUPP) will contest in all its 20 traditional seats in the upcoming 12th state election (PRN) including the seats held by opposition party, Parti Sarawak Bersatu (PSB).

SUPP secretary-general Datuk Sebastian Ting in a press statement today said the party had resolved to field their candidates in the 20 seats including the constituencies of Opar, Mambong, Engkilili, Dudong and Bawang Assan.


“All these years, we continue to go to the ground non-stop and had been working together with the communities to bring in economic progress and development to their constituencies, especially in the rural constituencies where welfare and subsidy are big issues.

“We are indeed very happy and grateful with the response and support coming from the communities and other Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) component parties.

“The spirit of cooperation and relationship from all GPS parties is tremendous and awesome.

“We firmly believe this will continue to grow stronger as all GPS Parties’ primary objective is to strive and safeguard, protect and fight for the best interest of Sarawak and the people of Sarawak,” Ting who is also Piasau assemblyman said.

SUPP won seven seats in their last state election held in May 2016.

They include Batu Kawah, Batu Kitang, Simanggang, Meradong, Repok, Piasau and Senadin.

Other traditional seats held by SUPP include Padungan, Pending, Batu Lintang, Kota Sentosa, Bukit Assek, Pelawan, Tanjong Batu and Pujut.—DayakDaily