School opening in 9 Covid-19 red zone districts postponed to Mar 14

Students (file photo)

KUCHING, Feb 26: The opening of new school term in nine Covid-19 red zone districts in Sarawak has been postponed for another two weeks to March 14.

According to State Disaster Management Committee’s (SDMC) statement today, these nine district are Kuching, Samarahan, Julau, Meradong, Sibu, Kapit, Bintulu, Subis and Miri.

SDMC said the decision was made after discussing with the Ministry of Education (KPM), following the advice of the Sarawak Health Department (JKNS).

“The decision was made after taking into account the health system capacity in the affected areas,” said SDMC.

SDMC said a committee was formed consisting of Ministry of Education, Science and Technological Research (MESTR) and Sarawak Education Department to ensure that school sessions throughout Sarawak would run smoothly and safely. – DayakDaily.