Sarbjit Singh the new AAS Kuching chairman

Front row (from left) Wung, Liew, Sarbjit Singh and Benny Zaidy.  Second row (from left) Desmond and last row (from left) Lopez, Dayangku Sa’adiah and Saifunnizam.

KUCHING, Dec 15:  Sarbjit Singh Khaira has been elected unopposed the new Advocates Association of Sarawak Kuching Branch (AAS Kuching) chairman.

Senior lawyer Liew Tang Chieh was returned unopposed as the vice chairman while Benny Zaidy Jalil and Nicholas Wung Duk Ying returned as branch secretary and treasurer respectively.

Former AAS Kuching chairman Desmond Sahathevan joined Emeric Teo, Saifunnizam Sam, Dayangku Sa’adiah Awg Hipni to continue to be committee members while Bartholomew Lopez and Alan Bong were elected new committee members.

They are expected to serve for a two-year term from 2020 to 2022.

The election of the new committee was held during the Branch’s Annual General Meeting last Saturday on Dec 12, 2020.   

The Branch extended its appreciation and special thanks to the outgoing office bearers Louis Ng and Jezamine Dior for their services and contributions during their tenure as committee members for the term 2018 to 2020.— DayakDaily