Sarawak sees 11 new faces appointed as assistant ministers

(Clockwise from top left) Tiang, Majang, Rentap and Juanda are among 10 new faces in Abang Johari's new Cabinet.

By Nancy Nais and Karen Bong

KUCHING, Dec 30: The Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS)-led government brought in 11 new faces as assistant ministers including Dato Majang Renggi, Michael Tiang, Dato Gerald Rentap Jabu and Datuk Juanda Jaya.

Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg in announcing his new Cabinet said that the GPS-led government will have 10 ministers and 26 assistant ministers comprising a mixture of experienced and new faces and professionals well represented throughout the State as part of the renewal process to deliver the most efficient level of service to the people.

Abang Johari (centre) flanked by Uggah on his right and Awang Tengah on his left when announcing the new Cabinet line-up.

Of the newly inducted assistant ministers, Jemoreng assemblyman Datuk Juanda Jaya has been assigned to handle Integrity and Ombudsman, while Bukit Goram assemblyman Jefferson Jamit Unyat assigned to Native Law and Customs in the Chief Minister’s Department.

Demak Laut assemblyman Dr Hazland Abang Hipni has been appointed Assistant Minister of Energy and Environmental Sustainability.

Sadong Jaya assemblyman Ir Aidel Lariwoo and Tanjung Manis assemblyman Dato Majang Renggi are included in the Ministry of Infrastructure and Port Development as Assistant Minister I and II respectively.

Newcomer Pelawan assemblyman Michael Tiang is named Assistant Minister II of the Ministry for Public Health, Housing and Local Government, while Kedup assemblyman Martin Ben is named Assistant Minister II in charge of the Ministry for Modernisation of Agriculture and Regional Development.

(Clockwise from left) Dr Hazland, Jamit, Martin and Aidel.

Tasik Biru assemblyman Dato Henry Harry Jinep has been assigned as Assistant Minister II to assist Dato Sri Lee Kim Shin in the Ministry for Transport.

Layar assemblyman Dato Gerald Rentap Jabu and Lambir assemblyman Dr Ripin Lamat have been included as Assistant Minister I and II respectively to assist Dato Sri Abdul Karim Rahman Hamzah in the Ministry for Youth, Sport and Entrepreneur Development.

Lastly, Saribas assemblyman Razi Sitam has been assigned Assistant Minister II under the Ministry for Women, Childhood and Community Wellbeing Development.

(From left) Harry, Ripin and Mohd Razi have been appointed assistant ministers.

In today’s announcement, Abang Johari emphasised that together with the experienced Cabinet members, they will mentor and nurture participation of young Sarawakian leaders in the administration and policy formulation.

“We are renewing the line-up to bring in fresh blood and more importantly, the composition of Cabinet members is well represented throughout the State to deliver the best and most efficient level of service to the people,” he added.

Deputy Chief Ministers Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Embas and Datuk Amar Awang Tengah Ali Hasan were among those present. — DayakDaily

The list of Assistant Ministers

Ministry Assistant Ministers
Minister in Chief Minister’s Department Datuk Sharifah Hasidah Sayeed Aman Ghazali

(Law, MA63 and State-Federal Relations)

Datuk Gerawat Gala

(Labour, Immigration, Project Monitoring)

Datuk Abdullah Saidol

(Corporate Affairs, Information and UKAS)

Datuk Juanda Jaya

(Integrity and Ombudsman)

Jefferson Jamit Unyat

(Native Law and Customs)

Energy and Environmental Sustainability Dr Hazland Abang Hipni
Natural Resources and Urban Development Datu Len Talif Salleh
Infrastructure and Port Development Aidel Lariwoo
Dato Majang Renggi
International Trade and Investment Datuk Dr Malcom Mussen Lamoh
Public Health, Housing and Local Government Datu Dr Penguang Manggil
Michael Tiang Ming Tee
Modernisation of Agriculture and Regional Development Datuk Abdul Rahman Ismail
Martin Ben
Transport Datuk Dr Jerip Susil
Dato Henry Harry Jinep
Utility and Telecommunication Datuk Liwan Lagang
Datuk Dr Abdul Rahman Junaidi
Tourism, Creative Industry and Performing Arts Dato Sebastian Ting
Datuk Snowdan Lawan
Youth, Sport and Entrepreneur Development Dato Gerald Rentap Jabu
Dr Ripin Lamat
Women, Childhood and Community Wellbeing Development Datuk Rosey Yunus
Mohd Razi Sitam
Education, Innovation and Talent Development Dr Annuar Rapa’ee
Datuk Franceis Harden Hollis