Sarawak Premier meets GPS MPs ahead of Parliament sitting

Abang Johari (seated eighth left) with others in a group photo during the pre-Parliament meeting with GPS MPs on Dec 18, 2022. Photo credit: Dr Sim Kui Hian's Facebook page

By Nur Ashikin Louis

KUCHING, Dec 19: Premier of Sarawak Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg held a dialogue session with Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) MPs last night prior to the commencement of the Parliament session today.

Abang Johari who is also the GPS chairman and Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) president was accompanied by Deputy Premier Dato Sri Dr Sim Kui Hian who is also Sarawak United Peoples’ Party (SUPP) president and Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) president Datuk Joseph Salang Gandum,

According to Dr Sim in a Facebook post today, such meet-ups are usually held by the Sarawak coalition ahead of every Parliament sitting since 2018.

Dr Sim said in the past, there was only the pre-council meeting by Prime Minister with MPs of ruling coalitions.

Among GPS leaders present during the meeting with the GPS MPs are Deputy Minister in the Premier’s Department (Law, State-Federal Relations and Project Monitoring) and chief political secretary to the Premier of Sarawak, Fazzrudin Abdul Rahman.

The 23 GPS MPs taking their oath in Parliamentary sitting on Dec 19, 2022.

GPS is now part of the Malaysian unity government under the leadership of Prime Minister Dato Seri Anwar Ibrahim formed after the 15th General Election.

GPS holds five ministerial posts and six deputy minister posts in the federal cabinet while Petra Jaya MP Dato Sri Fadillah Yusof is the first politician from Sarawak appointed as the Deputy Prime Minister.

Of the 23 GPS MPs, seven are new faces namely Batang Sadong MP Rodiyah Sapiee, Batang Lupar MP Mohamad Shafizan Kepli, Sri Aman MP Dato Sri Doris Sophia Brodie, Lubok Antu MP Roy Gingkoi, Betong MP Dr Richard Rapu, Sarikei MP Dato Sri Huang Tiong Sii and Selangau MP Edwin Banta. — DayakDaily