Sarawak finally Covid-19 cluster-free as DTI Semuja 3 Cluster ends

Covid-19 (file photo).

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

KUCHING, April 19: There are no longer any active Covid-19 clusters in Sarawak following the end of the DTI Semuja 3 Cluster in Serian.

According to the Sarawak Disaster Management Committee (SDMC) in a statement today, the cluster has officially ended after no new Covid-19 cases were reported from the cluster.

SDMC also said that no new clusters were reported.

Meanwhile, Sarawak has recorded 160 new Covid-19 cases today, with the majority of these cases in Category 2 (mild symptoms).

Of the new cases reported, 53 are in Category 1 (no symptoms), 104 are in Category 2 (mild symptoms), two are in Category 3 (lung infection), and one is in Category 4 (lung infection requiring oxygen support).

Kuching once again recorded the most new cases with 49, followed by Bintulu (35), Miri (21), Samarahan (11), and Sibu (10).

Districts that recorded single-digit case gains were Serian (5), Mukah (4), Sri Aman (4), Julau (4), Dalat (3), Pakan (2), and Betong (2).

In addition, Sarikei, Lundu, Lawas, Saratok, Asajaya, Kabong, Tebedu, Bau, Kanowit, and Meradong recorded one case each.

No new deaths were reported. — DayakDaily