Sarawak Baru to struggle for a better Sarawak, says STAR leader

From left: Cobbold, Banyi, Munan and Soo met today (August 30, 2018) to discuss their plan to form Sarawak Baru.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

KUCHING, August 30: Four Sarawak-based parties will soon ink a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) to forge a political alliance called Sarawak Baru (SB) to fight for a “prosperous and harmonious” Sarawak.

The four parties are State Reform Party (STAR), Parti Bansa Dayak Sarawak Baru (PBDSB), Parti Tenaga Rakyat Sarawak (Teras) and Sarawak Workers Party (SWP).

Their leaders, namely Cobbold John of PBDSB, Banyi Beriak (Teras), Munan Laja (SWP) and Lina Soo (STAR), met today to discuss their next move including seeking the consensus of their respective party members on the proposed pact.

Soo claimed when news about SB first broke, the idea was met with an encouraging response as many Sarawakians felt the state’s oil and sovereign interest needed to be guarded and defended at all cost.

“SB shall strive to fulfil the people’s aspiration for a prosperous and harmonious Sarawak, where Sarawakians shall govern their resources themselves for a better economy and progressive society,” said Soo in a statement today.

SB welcomed other Sarawak parties and non-governmental organisations (NGOs) with the same interests to join SB. — DayakDaily