Salang officially PRS president, Sikie senior vice president and Majang deputy president

Parti Rakyat Sarawak logo.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Lian Cheng

KUCHING, April 25: Following Parti Rakyat Sarawak (PRS) senior leader Datuk John Sikie Tayai’s decision not to contest, acting president Datuk Joseph Salang Gandum has stepped up as the party’s president after its Fifth Triennial Delegates Conference (TDC) held in Sibu on April 23 to 24.  

Sikie, who is Minister in the Premier of Sarawak’s Office, instead assumed the post of senior vice president.

Infrastructure and Port Development Deputy Minister Dato Majang Renggi, as agreed, assumed the post of deputy president while Deputy Health Minister Datuk Aaron Ago Dagang, who is also Kanowit MP; Utility and Telecommunication Deputy Minister Datuk Liwan Lagang, who is Belaga assemblyman; and Tourism, Creative Industry and Performing Arts Deputy Minister who is also Balai Ringin assemblyman Datuk Snowdan Lawan (Youth chief) are the vice presidents.

Other vice presidents include Bukit Begunan assemblyman Datuk Mong Dagang, Hulu Rajang MP Datuk Wilson Ugak Kumbong, and Women chief Dato Sri Doris Sophia Brodie.

Dato Janang Bungsu continues to be the party’s secretary-general, and Senator Rita Sarimah Patrick Insol is the deputy secretary-general.

International Trade and Investment Deputy Minister Dr Malcom Mussen Lamoh, who is also Batang Ai assemblyman, has been appointed the treasurer-general with Edwin Banta as his deputy.

The information chief post continues to be held by Datuk Wilfred Rata Nissom, while Andy Lawrence is his deputy.

The Supreme Council members are Murum assemblyman Kennedy Chukpai Ugon, Pelagus assemblyman Wilson Nyabong Ijang, Tamin assemblyman Christopher Gira Sambang, Ngemah assemblyman Anyie Jana, and Baleh assemblyman Nicholas Kudi Jantai.

Other Supreme Council members include Dato Azizi Morni, Dato Philimon Nuing, Sibu Rural District Council chairman Sempurai Petrus Ngelai, Alexander Donald, Pandang Semat, Thomas Balan Bang, Jackson Melintang Bukit, Lau Ting Ping, Alexander Vincent, and Rosalind Neging.

Jetli Jelian is the permanent chairman, while Andrew Kalom Aman is the alternate permanent chairman. — DayakDaily