PSB to table resolution to dissolve party at emergency conference today

Composite photo of PDP (left) and PSB's logos.

KUCHING, Feb 17: Parti Sarawak Bersatu (PSB) will table a resolution to dissolve the party at its Extraordinary Delegates Conference (EDC) today, as indicated in a notice seen by DayakDaily.

Dated Feb 1, 2024, the notice was addressed to PSB’s advisors and all branch chairmen and delegates. It was signed by the party’s president Dato Sri Wong Soon Koh and secretary-general Baru Bian.

It is understood that the party’s EDC will take place at Joystar Garden Restaurant in Sibu at 3pm later.

The notice also contained the agenda of the meeting which will start with the opening address by the president (Wong), followed by speeches from the deputy president (Dr Johnichal Rayong Ngipa), secretary-general (Baru Bian) and central treasurer.

The fifth item of the agenda is the ‘Resolution to be passed to dissolve the party’ before the conference ends with discussion on any other business.

At the same time, DayakDaily also received information based on a message written in Chinese being circulated among PSB members, which stated that the EDC today will not only dissolve the party, but they will also apply to join PDP on the spot.

To elaborate further, the party members would need to fill in an application form, submit a photo and pay RM2 as membership fee.

Speculation has been rife that PSB would disband today and its disbandment would be followed with party members joining Progressive Democratic Party (PDP) en bloc soon.

In the 12th Sarawak State Election in 2021, PSB won four of 82 seats contested.

The seats were Bawang Assan won by Wong, Engkilili (Rayong), Ba’kelalan (Baru) and Batu Lintang (See Chee How).

In August 2022, See left PSB to become an independent member of the Sarawak Legislative Assembly (DUN).

Meanwhile, on July 13, 2023, Tiong and Wong, signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU), signaling the start of the potential PSB-PDP merger.

If the absorption of PSB members into PDP comes to pass, the latter will hold a total of 8 State seats including Tasik Biru (Dato Henry Harry Jinep), Krian (Friday Belik), Meluan (Roland Duat), Dudong (Tiong) and Marudi (Datuk Dr Penguang Manggil).

At the parliamentary level, PDP has two seats represented by Tiong (Bintulu) and Dato Anyi Ngau (Baram). — DayakDaily