PM Anwar confirms GPS was kingmaker during hung Parliament

Anwar and Abang Johari sharing a light moment at Unity Government National Convention 2023 in Kuala Lumpur on May 14, 2023. Screenshot taken from a livestream on Barisan Nasional's Facebook page.

By Nur Ashikin Louis

KUCHING, May 14: Prime Minister Dato Seri Anwar Ibrahim has put an end to the riddle on who was the real ‘kingmaker’ when Malaysia faced its first-ever hung Parliament after the 15th General Election (GE15).

His answer—Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) under the leadership of Sarawak Premier Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg.


Speaking at Unity Government National Convention 2023 in Kuala Lumpur today, Anwar who is the Pakatan Harapan (PH) chairman took the opportunity to thank political enemy-turned-ally Barisan National (BN) and other coalition members and parties under the unity government.

Anwar recalled the ‘moment of truth’ when PH, despite winning the most seats, was still short of seats to achieve a simple majority in GE15.

“However, I would like to share that if it wasn’t for the commitment of Dato Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi as United Malays National Organisation (Umno) president and the support of Umno Members of Parliament (MPs), our history would have changed, and so we must recognise his part and Umno.

“Also, from the Yang di-Pertuan Agong’s (point of view) during the critical situation, Premier Abang Johari and GPS were the determining factor (kingmaker),” he said.

GE15 ended in a hung Parliament with no party securing a clear majority to form the new federal government.

PH had won 82 seats, followed by Perikatan Nasional (PN) with 73 seats, BN (30), GPS (22), Gabungan Rakyat Sabah (6), and Parti Warisan (3).

Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah took control of the process and the royal palace then announced on November 24 that Anwar would be appointed as the new Prime Minister with his coalition being supported by BN, GPS, GRS and Warisan.

The pact was also supported by Parti Bangsa Malaysia (PBM), Parti Kesejahteraan Demokratik Masyarakat (KDM), Malaysian United Democratic Alliance (Muda) and two Independent MPs. — DayakDaily