Parliament to reconvene for five days from July 26-Aug 2, Dewan Negara 3 days from Aug 3-5

A statement from the Prime Minister’s Office on the reconvening of Parliament by the end of the month.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

KUCHING, July 5: Parliament will reconvene for five days starting from July 26 to August 2 while Dewan Negara will sit for three days from August 3 to 5.

The Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) in a statement today said the government has agreed to advise the Yang di-Pertuan Agong, Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah for a special meeting of the Third Term of the 14th Parliament to be held for five days starting from July 26 until 29 and August 2 while the Senate to sit from August 3 to 5.

“The sitting will be for the purpose of explaining to Members of Parliament (MPs) about the National Recovery Plan and amendments to the law to allow a hybrid Parliament sitting to be held,” it said.

PMO said the meeting would adhere to the requirement under Article 150(3) of the Federal Constitution for the Emergency Proclamation to be ‘laid before both Houses of Parliament’ and that the sitting will be held in accordance with the standard operating procedures (SOPs) set by the National Security Council (MKN) and Health Ministry (KKM).

Last Thursday (July 1), the Yang di-Pertuan Agong had called for Parliament to reconvene before August 1.

Parliament was suspended following the declaration of Emergency (Essential Powers) Ordinance 2021 by His Majesty on Jan 12 in light of the growing threat posed by Covid-19 to the country. — DayakDaily