No sign of bill to amend Article 1(2) yet, says Wan Junaidi

Datuk Seri Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar - file pic

By Lian Cheng

KUCHING, March 17: Santubong MP Datuk Seri Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar believes the proposed amendment to Article 1(2) of the Federal Constitution will only be tabled on the last week of the current parliamentary session.

He based his prediction on the normal practice of Parliament to leave the tabling of controversial bills to the tail end of the session.


Another reason, according to him, was that the bill needed two-thirds majority support for it to be passed, and the ruling Pakatan Harapan (PH) does not have the required number of MPs.

As such, PH would need to discuss and negotiate with its friendly allies as well as the opposition, including Barisan Nasional, PAS and Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS).

“As PH does not have a two-thirds majority, they will have to call us to discuss with us and make sure that we support the bill. This should be the way,” he told DayakDaily.

“To pass the bill, it is not two-thirds of those present in the Dewan when voting is called. It is two-thirds of the total 222 representatives.”

Wan Junaidi said for that to happen, de-facto Law Minister Datuk Liew Vui Keong would need to talk to all political entities that mattered to secure the number required.

“He needs to let us know the details of the amendments and later inform us of the date of voting to make sure that everyone is there to vote if he wants to get the two-thirds majority to pass the bill.

“However, until now, we have heard nothing from them. We have not seen the proposed amendments and it is not yet in the scheduled timetable. We don’t know when it will be tabled.”

For the bill to be passed, it needs the support of 148 MPs.

In the 222-seat Parliament, PH holds 129 seats, BN (40), Gagasan Sejahtera (PAS and its allies)(18), GPS (18), Parti Warisan Sabah (9), United Alliance of Sabah (3), United Pasokmomogun Kadazandusun Murut Organisation of Sabah (UPKO)(1), Parti Sarawak Bersatu (PSB)(1) and three independent parliamentarians. — DayakDaily