No more green zones in Sarawak as Telang Usan loses battle to stay Covid-free

An infographic showing the districts in Sarawak under red, orange and yellow zones as of June 5, 2021.

KUCHING, June 5: No districts in Sarawak are in the safe green zone after Telang Usan, the one and only Covid-19 free stronghold, fell and turned yellow today after recording nine local cases in the past 14 days.

State Disaster Management Committee (SDMC), in its daily updates on Covid-19 situation in Sarawak, stated that with Telang Usan added into the yellow zone, the number of districts in the category has increased to seven.

The six other districts in the yellow zones are Lawas, Daro, Tebedu, Limbang, Matu and Lundu.

Unfortunately, the number of districts under red zones in Sarawak have increased by two after Kabong and Sebauh districts lose their orange status.

Kabong and Sebauh district are now added into the red zones after recording more than 40 local cases in the last 14 days.

With that, the number of districts in the red zone now stands at 30 with a cumulative of 8,572 cases recorded in a fortnight.

Of the 30 districts in the red zone, Kuching has the highest number of infections registered in the last two weeks at 1,869 followed by Miri (1,265), Sibu (1,088), Bintulu (772), Kapit (354), Samarahan (332), Subis (274), Selangau (225), Sarikei (219), Mukah (168), Tatau (166), Bukit Mabong (132), Pakan (123), Asajaya (115), Serian (114), Belaga (113) and Meradong (112) while the rest has two-digit cases between 42 and 96.

There are only three districts in the orange zones namely Saratok, Pusa and Song.— DayakDaily