Ninth state-level Environmental-Friendly School Award names winners

Awang Tengah (fourth left) presenting the trophy to a representative from SJK(C) Chung Hua Pujut Miri.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Jaythaleela K

MIRI, Oct 7: SJK(C) Chung Hua Pujut Miri and SMK Bandar Sibu were announced as winners in the ninth edition of the state-level Environmental-Friendly School Award (Anugerah Sekolah Rakan Alam Sekitar) or SERASI for primary and secondary schools respectively during the award presentation ceremony here yesterday.

The two schools walked away with RM5,000 in cash, a challenge trophy and certificate of achievement each.

Meanwhile, in the overall SERASI award categories (Gold, Silver and Bronze), SJK(C) Chung Hua Miri and SMK Pending, Kuching walked away with RM4,000 in cash, a trophy and certificate; SK Abang Abduk Rahmab, Saratok and SMK Lutong Miri went home with RM3,000, a trophy and certificate; and SJK(C) Min Daik, Bintagor and SMK Bandar Bintulu walked away with RM2,000 in cash, a trophy and certificate.

In the ‘Hope Award’, SJK Chung Hua Pangkalan Baru, Padawan and SMK Bukit Assek, Sibu were named as winners, taking home cash amounting to RM1,000 and certificate.

The ‘Teacher’s Award’ went to Kho Ling Hua of SJK(C) Chung Hua Pujut, Miri and Hii Yii Sing of SMK Bandar Sibu. Both walked away with RM1,000 cash and certificates.

In the ‘Student Icon Award’, the winners were Voon Sen Yu of SJK(C) Chung Hua Miri and Katerina Cheria Jambai (former student of SMK Bandar Bintulu). Both winners received RM500 cash and certificates. Katerina is currently pursuing her studies at Universiti Malaysia Sarawak, Kota Samarahan.

For the “Project Award” categories (Gold, Silver and Bronze), SK Telahak, Limbang and SMK Semerah Padi, Kuching bagged RM1,000 cash and certificates; SJK(C) Chung Hua Pujut, Miri and SMK Sacred Heart, Sibu walked away with RM700 and certificates; and SK Mata Parang, Samarahan and SMK Bandar Sibu won RM500 and certificates.

All the awards were presented by Deputy Chief Minister Datuk Amar Awang Tengah Ali Hasan. — DayakDaily