Miri MP replaces Sng in Sarawak PH as deputy chairperson

Chong (seated centre) addressing the press conference as Teo (seated left), Abdul Halil (seated right) and other committee members listened on.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Ling Hui

KUCHING, March 20: Miri MP Dr Michael Teo has taken the place of former State Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) chairman Larry Sng as Sarawak Pakatan Harapan (PH) deputy chairperson.

This was in the announcement by Sarawak Pakatan chairman Chong Chieng Jen during a press conference at the Sarawak Democratic Action Party (DAP) headquarters here today.

Following the recent departure of Sng from the coalition, he said, Sarawak Pakatan is looking into certain aspects of reform as there is plenty of unfairness and injustice in its current set up, policy and structure.

In the new lineup list of office bearers and committee members, Parti Amanah Negara (Amanah) Sarawak chairman Abg Abdul Halil Abg Naili was seen to remain as the second deputy chairperson.

The rest of the officer bearers are Alan Ling (Secretary), Chiew Chiu Sing (Treasurer), Saifunnizam Sam (Youth chief), Violet Yong (Women chief), Abg Zulkifli Abg Engkeh (Publicity Secretary), Joshua Jabeng (Land Reform Bureau Chief) and Leon Jimat Donald (Civil Service Reform Bureau Chief).

Chong, who is also Sarawak Democratic Action Party (DAP) chairman, also read other committee members including Roland Engan, David Wong, Maxwell Rojis, Andri Zulkarnaen, Mohd Fadillah Sabali and Kelvin Yii.

“So, this will be the formal PH Sarawak lineup and we have decided that the bureaus will table their reports in two weeks’ time,” he added.

Meanwhile, when asked regarding a previously signed agreement between DAP, PKR and Amanah on the seat allocations for respective contestants in the upcoming Sarawak State Election (PRN12), he said the agreement will remain.

However, he added, re-adjustments are possible in the future under the circumstances that consensus is achieved among the three parties based on the original agreement.

The allegiance formed on Jan 2, signed by Sng, Chong and Abdul Halil agreed that PKR will be contesting in 47 state seats, DAP in 26 seats and Amanah in the other nine in the coming PRN12. — DayakDaily