Minister Roland Sagah leads Sarawak delegation to learn science centre operations in South Korea

Sagah (6th right) presents s momento to Seoul Science Centre's director Yoo Man-Seon while other dignitaries look on in Seoul, South Korea, on Dec 1, 2023.

KUCHING, Dec 3: Minister of Education, Innovation. and Talent Development Sarawak (MEITD) Dato Sri Roland Sagah Wee Inn is leading a Sarawak delegation to learn about science centre operations and management in South Korea as part of the preparation for the upcoming Sarawak Science Centre.

According to a media release, the working group visited the Seoul Science Centre on Dec 1 where they were briefed on the operation and important elements, the exhibits and demonstrations of scientific concepts and applications.

Sarawak Science Centre is scheduled to open by the second quarter of 2026.

The Sarawak delegation included Deputy Minister for Education, Innovation, and Talent Development I (Education and Innovation) Datuk Dr Annuar Rapaee; Deputy Minister for Education, Innovation, and Talent Development II (Talent Development) Datuk Francis Harden Hollis; Sarawak Financial Secretary Dato Sri Wan Lizozman Wan Omar; MEITD permanent secretary Datu Azmi Bujang; Serembu assemblyman Miro Simuh; Sarawak Research Development Council (SRDC) general manager Dr Peter Morin, Sarawak Biodiversity Centre (SBC) chief executive officer Dato Dr Charlie Yeo; and Sarawak Infectious Disease Centre (SIDC) chief executive officer Dr Ivan Yap.

The delegation also visited the National Science Centre in Daejeon and the Gwacheon National Science Museum.

“The Korea Research Institute of Bioscience and Biotechnology made a call to the Minister and put forth proposals for collaboration with the Sarawak Bio-Valley Pilot Plant in Miri,” the statement reported.

At the same time, the working visit also seeks collaboration in the research and development of pharmaceutical and bio-medical products.

Therefore, the group is scheduled to visit Bukwang Pharmaceutical, Yonsei University Seoul, Seegen Medical Foundation, Asan Medical Centre and SD Biosensor. — DayakDaily