Jaul Samion to lead investiture ceremony in Miri today

Jaul (left) accepting the award from Taib at the investiture ceremony.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

KUCHING, Oct 12: State Secretary Datu Jaul Samion will be leading the investiture ceremony to be held in Miri today (Oct 12), in conjunction with Yang Dipertua Negeri Tun Pehin Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud’s 83rd birthday.

Jaul will be receiving the Datuk Amar Bintang Kenyalang award which carries the title Datuk Amar, together with the State Finance Secretary Dato Sri Ahmad Tarmizi Sulaiman and veteran Bidayuh politician Dato Sri Dominic Andrew Dago Randan.

Meanwhile, Minister of Housing and Local Government Datuk Dr Sim Kui Hian will be receiving the Panglima Negara Bintang Sarawak which carries the title Dato Sri, together with former Machan assemblyman Datuk Gramong Juna and Deputy State Secretary Datu Mohamad Abu Bakar Marzuki.

Dr Sim (left) accepting his award from Taib.

Several assistant ministers will also be receiving their Pingat Gemilang Bintang Kenyalang which carries the title Datuk. They are Assistant Minister of Law, State-Federal Relations and Project Monitoring Sharifah Hasidah Sayeed Aman Ghazali, Assistant Minister of Agriculture, Native Land and Regional Development Dr Abdul Rahman Ismail, Assistant Minister of International Trade and Industry, Industrial Terminal and Entrepreneur Development Malcolm Mussen Lamoh, retired DBKU Datuk Bandar Datuk Abang Abdul Wahap Abang Julai, former Shell Malaysia chairman Datuk Iain John Lo, Petros chief executive officer (CEO) Saau Kakok, Serba Dinamik Holdings Bhd CEO Abdul Kadier Sahib, and the Anglican Diocesan of Kuching Bishop The Right Reverend Danald Jute.

Five civil servants have performed outstandingly and were awarded the ‘Darjah Jasa Bakti Sarawak’ which carries the title ‘Datu’.  They are Bakrie Zaini, Chok Moi Soon, Antonio Kahti Galis, Zaidi Mahdi and State Forest Department director Hamden Mohammad.

Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (PBB) information chief Datuk Idris Buang and PBB deputy secretary-general Ibrahim Baki were among ten to be awarded ‘Panglima Setia Bintang Sarawak’ with the title ‘Dato’.

Idris (left) accepting his award from Taib.

Meanwhile, Datin Amar Saptuyah Suib, Hasbi Habibollah, Martin Ben, Dr Annuar Rapa’ee  and Dr Hazland Abang Hipni were conferred Johan Bintang Sarawak.

There are 10 recipients of Johan Bintang Kenyalang namely, Roselyn Long Lah, Amnah Ayup, Leftenan Kol. (B) Harbhajan Singh Jagat Singh, Abdul Yakub Arbi, Fatimah Hariah Osman, Lukanisman Awang Sauni, Pang Kim Soo, Peter Jalong Usang @ George Jalong, Yiak Chiong Wei and Yii Souk Ming.

All in all, 758 recipients will be receiving their investiture awards from Tun Taib today in Miri, in which some 15,000 people are expected to attend, including those who will participate in the parade.

For the parade, some 5,000 participants from over 100 contingents from state government agencies and departments, associations, non-governmental organisations (NGOs), uniformed units, and institutes of higher learning will be participating.

Among the highlights of the parade would be a special fly-past comprising the Royal Malaysian Air Force (RMAF), Fire and Rescue Department (Bomba), Hornbill Skyways, and the police.

There will also be a ‘human graphic’ performance by 800 participants as well as presentations by the Sarawak Arts Council.

The investiture ceremony will be held after the parade, followed by a grand state banquet, which will feature special performances by Orkestra Tradisional Malaysia from Istana Budaya, Kuala Lumpur, and Malaysian celebrities.— DayakDaily