GE15: SUPP introduces three potential candidates for Miri, party’s top leadership to decide

Ting (front row, fourth left) and Lee (front row, sixth left) with Leong (left), Lau (second row, third left), and Phang (on Lau's left) after the cheque presentation ceremony.

By Jaythaleela K

MIRI, Oct 2: Sarawak United Peoples’ Party (SUPP) secretary-general Datuk Sebastian Ting Chiew Yew introduced the party’s three potential candidates for the Miri parliamentary seat in this coming 15th General Election (GE15).

The three candidates are SUPP Senadin secretary Cr Jeffery Phang, SUPP Piasau Youth section chief Cr Leslie Lau, and SUPP Piasau secretary Cr Aries Leong Chin Lim.

Their names have been submitted to the party’s top leadership, who will decide who among the three will represent SUPP in the Miri parliamentary seat in GE15.

Ting said this during the handing over of the Unit for Other Religions (Unifor) cheque worth RM1.7 million to the Sea Dragon (Shak Lung Kung) Temple at Krokop today.

The current Miri MP is Michael Teo Yu Keng from PKR, who beat Ting with 35,739 votes in the 14th General Election in 2018.

Meanwhile, nearly 2,000 people were present at the event, where 6,500 packs of rice were distributed.

A cheque worth RM800,000 was also presented to Gurdwara Sahib Miri for the extension and renovation of a two-storey multi-purpose building next to the existing two-storey Sikh temple at Jalan Kubu Miri.

Also present were Sarawak Minister of Transport Dato Sri Lee Kim Shin and Unifor director Richard Lon. — DayakDaily