GE15: P199 Serian incumbent Richard Riot retains seat with big majority

Official results for P199 Serian. Screenshot taken from a Sarawak Public Communications Unit Facebook livestream.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

By Ashley Sim

KUCHING, Nov 20: Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) candidate Richard Riot Jaem has successfully defended P199 Serian in the 15th General Election (GE15), winning with a majority of 16,697 votes against his closest competitor Serian independent (Bebas) candidate Alim Impira.

Riot polled 22,876 votes against Impira who garnered 6,179 votes.

Meanwhile, Parti Sarawak Bersatu (PSB) candidate Elsiy Tingang received 5,630 votes and Democratic Action Party (DAP) candidate Learry Jabul received 5,289 votes.

There are a total of 65,273 registered voters in the federal constituency.

Riot first became the Member of Parliament (MP) for 199 Serian as an independent candidate.

He is now the deputy president of Sarawak United Peoples’ Party (SUPP) and has held the Serian federal seat for seven terms.

He defeated Senior William Rade (independent) and Edward Andrew Luwak (Democratic Action Party) in the last general election (GE14), which he won with a majority of 9,905 votes.

He had contested on a Barisan Nasional ticket. — DayakDaily