Dr Sim wins uncontested, retains SUPP presidency

Dr Sim (centre) showing the list of the CC members while (from left) Harden, Riot, Ting and Lee look on.

By Christopher Lidom

KUCHING, May 22: Sarawak United Peoples’ Party (SUPP) president Dato Seri Dr Sim Kui Hian retained his post uncontested in the party’s 25th Triennial Delegates Conference (TDC) at its headquarters here today.

Dr Sim said Datuk Seri Richard Riot and Dato Sri Lee Kim Shin retained their positions as deputy presidents, Dato Sebastian Ting as secretary-general, and Datuk Francis Harden as treasurer.

“All four of them also won their respective posts uncontested. I am honoured to be re-elected as the party president for another three years.

“This afternoon, we also had the second part of the election where we elected 20 Central Committee (CC) members and 29 Central Working Committee (CWC) members,” he told reporters during a press conference held after the TDC at Sa’ati hall in SUPP headquarters today.

Meanwhile, Dr Sim said SUPP also came up with a resolution to urge the Sarawak government to set up a Cabinet committee to look into the racial imbalance in the State and federal civil service.

He said this includes drawing out and implementing strategies and guidelines for addressing the issues. — DayakDaily