DM Sri Tabuan outplays 15 teams to win Sarawak Energy Cup 2017

Ting (eighth right) presents the trophy and mock cheque to Sarawak Energy Cup 2017 champion, DM Sri Tabuan.

KUCHING, Jan 8: DM Sri Tabuan emerged as champion of the 2017 Sarawak Energy Cup after beating 15 other teams vying for the main title in the annual badminton tournament, held from Dec 26-31.

According to a press release, DM Sri Tabuan players defeated Club Ace in the final to win the tournament trophy, RM8,000 and medals for their effort. Runner-up Club Ace received RM4,000 and medals while semi-finalists DM Sri Tabuan A and G Builders/PBM A received RM2,000 per team.

Held since 2016, the 2017 edition attracted 16 teams. The competition was divided into five categories: Veteran Men’s Double (45 years and above), Men’s Double, Men’s Double (Invitation Category), Novice Men’s Double and Men’s Double. A total of RM20,000 in prize money was on offer across all categories.

Sarawak Energy’s executive vice-president for strategy and corporate development Ting Ching Zung presented the prizes at the prizegiving ceremony. Also present were senior vice-president for human resources Dr Mak Met, vice-president for research and development Dr Chen Shiun and senior management.

The annual tournament is open to Sarawakians, permanent residents and those holding work or study permits in Sarawak, and is organised to promote a healthy lifestyle as well as to foster greater rapport within the badminton-playing business community. — DayakDaily