DayakDaily journalists bag two awards at Kenyalang Journalism Awards 2021

DayakDaily journalists Sharon Ling Hui (right) and Nancy Nais took home two prizes at Sarawak’s most prestigious media award, the ‘Kenyalang Journalism Awards 2021’.

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

KUCHING, Dec 4: DayakDaily journalists Sharon Ling Hui and Nancy Nais took home two awards at Sarawak’s most prestigious media award, ‘Kenyalang Journalism Awards 2021’ this year.

Ling Hui, who began her journalism career with DayakDaily in July 2020, bagged the gold award in Community Wellbeing and Rural Development Journalism (English) for her excellent three-series entitled ‘Sibu-Kapit Road 1: The Kapit Response‘; ‘Sibu-Kapit Road 2: No Road, No Ladang‘; and ‘Sibu-Kapit Road 3: The End Of The Express Boat Industry‘.

This was also her first time participating in Sarawak’s coveted journalism award.

Petronas Group Strategic Communications Datin Anita Azrina Aziz (centre) presenting the Kenyalang Journalism Award 2021 to DayakDaily journalist Sharon Ling Hui, who won the gold award in the Community Wellbeing & Rural Development Journalism category.

Meanwhile, Nancy took home the bronze award in the Feature and New Feature (English) with her five-series on Exploring Sarawak’s nature through hiking: ‘Santubong ― where the fascinating Blue Pool beckons to a day of rest‘; ‘Bak Buan Kukuot waterfall and its jungle cafe‘; ‘Arong Serait Waterfalls beckons to a cool gateway, away from it all‘; ‘Finding solace in the clouds: Hiking my way up to the top of Bukit Batu Selabat‘; and ‘Seeking the Muan Tabik waterfall in Kg Gayu, with a stopover at a head house‘.

Assistant Minister of Law, State-Federal Relations, and Project Monitoring Datuk Sharifah Hasidah Sayeed Aman Ghazali presented the main awards to the winners on behalf of Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg.

Among those who attended the event were chief executive officer of Malaysian Press Institute Datuk Dr Chamil Wariya, Petronas Group Strategic Communications senior general manager Datin Anita Azrina Abdul Aziz, group chief executive officer of Sarawak Energy Berhad Datu Sharbini Suhaili, and country chairman of Shell Malaysia Ivan Tan.

This year’s Kenyalang Journalism Awards saw a total of 338 entries from the print, electronic, and broadcast media practitioners in Sarawak for the various categories contested. — DayakDaily