Coalitions ink agreement to form unity government, support Anwar

Seated from left: Hajiji, Zahid, Anwar, Abang Johari and Shafie sign the 'Malaysian Unity Government' Agreement while other leaders look on. Photo credit: PMO

By Nur Ashikin Louis

KUCHING, Dec 16: Pakatan Harapan (PH) has formally inked an agreement with several coalitions in forming the ‘Malaysian Unity Government’ and supporting Dato Seri Anwar Ibrahim as Prime Minister.

The pact was signed by Anwar who is PH chairman and Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) president, Barisan Nasional (BN) chairman Dato Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) chairman Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg, Gabungan Rakyat Sabah (GRS) chairman Datuk Seri Hajiji Noor, and Parti Warisan (Warisan) president Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal.


The new federal government also included the support of Parti Bangsa Malaysia (PBM), Parti Kesejahteraan Demokratik Masyarakat (KDM), and two Independent Members of Parliament (MPs).

The signing of the agreement, held at the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) in Putrajaya today, signalled that the new federal government has accumulated a total of 148 seats and surpassed a two-thirds majority in the Dewan Rakyat.

This also meant that PH, BN, GPS, GRS, Warisan, PBM, KDM, and two Independent MPs are joining a coalition to form the Malaysian Unity Government for five years.

Under that same agreement, it is worth noting that the prime minister has the right to reshuffle and change the number, portfolios, and appointments to the Cabinet of ministers or any appointments agreed through this cooperation agreement with the consent of the majority of the heads of parties that make up the pact.

The agreement also stated that the pact members would vote in favour of the prime minister in motions related to vote of confidence, supply bills, and any other motions in the form of procedures that impact the legitimacy of the federal government in accordance with the Federal Constitution.

Failure to do so shall be taken into account as a breach of individual responsibility of the MP to the party, which is considered as resignation and termination from being an MP and that his or her seat is vacated.

Following the agreement, a consultative council will also be set up, comprising representatives from the parties that make up the unity government.

The council would be responsible for ensuring that all the terms agreed in the cooperation Agreement be implemented carefully and orderly. At the same time, disagreements and misunderstandings must be resolved harmoniously.

At the ceremony, Abang Johari said GPS would back Anwar as the prime minister in giving views collectively on its behalf.

“We trust him to pursue our development agenda and at the same time to have our rakyat (people) in terms of transforming our economy.

“Particularly next year, it is projected that our economy would not be that good, and we need all these efforts to help Malaysia regain its position in this economic reformation,” he stated. — DayakDaily