Awang Tengah: Dr Ripin’s victory in Lambir during PRN12 shows confidence in GPS leadership

Awang Tengah (fourth from left) with Dr Ripin (on Tengah's left) and Sibuti MP Lukanisman Awang Sauni (second from left) and other guests during the appreciation dinner on Friday.

Jaythaleela K

MIRI, Jan 8: Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu’s (PBB) success in retaining Lambir constituency in the recently concluded 12th Sarawak Election with a huge majority is a clear endorsement by the constituents towards the leadership of the current government under Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Tan Sri Abang Johari Tun Openg.

“Despite being considered as a grey area (for our candidate) based on initial reports that we had received prior to the election, PBB’s Dr Ripin Lamat successfully retained the seat with a large majority,” said Deputy Chief Minister Datuk Amar Awang Tengah Ali Hasan.

In the 12th Sarawak Wlection, Ripin retained Lambir with a majority of 5,790 votes, compared to 4,970 votes back in 2016, despite the low voter turnout.

“Gabungan Parti Sarawak’s (GPS) landslide victory proves that the people want a stable government and they believe in Abang Johari,” he pointed out.

In stating this, Tengah said, the people, regardless of their backgrounds believed and trusted the government of the day in fighting for their rights and to protect the interests of Sarawak as stipulated in the Malaysia Agreement 1963 (MA63).

Tengah was speaking at the GPS appreciation night for Lambir constituency held at a leading hotel here on Friday night.

He added, with the strong mandate for GPS, the State government will continue with its holistic approach in infrastructure development.

In the election, GPS won 76 of the 82 seats.

Also present were State Legislative Assembly Speaker Datuk Amar Mohamad Asfia Awang Nassar, Sibuti Member of Parliament Lukanisman Awang Sauni, newly appointed Assistant Minister of Youth, Sport and Entrepreneur Developement II (Entrepreneur Development ) cum Lambir assemblyman Dr Ripin Lamat and Miri Resident Abdul Aziz Mohd Yusuf. — DayakDaily