[UPDATED] Ahmad Johnie defends P207 Igan with bigger majority

Official results for P207 Igan. Screenshot taken from a Sarawak Public Communications Unit Facebook livestream.

By Lian Cheng and Nur Ashikin Louis

KUCHING, Nov 19: Ahmad Johnie Zawawi of Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) has defended P207 Igan in a straight fight against Hud Andri Zulkarnaen of Parti Amanah Negara (Amanah) in the 15th General Election (GE15).

Ahmad Johnie managed to garner 15,824 votes against Hud Andri’s 1,162, resulting in the former winning with an impressive majority of 14,662 votes.

He pledged to continue his development agenda for education in his constituency.

The man who secured GPS’ first victory in GE15 thanked his constituents for giving him a second term as their MP.

“First of all, thank you to all voters in Igan for such great and solid support this time. Insya-Allah, this trust will be translated into giving my best commitment in carrying out the duties as an MP (Member of Parliament) in Igan.

“I will continue to support the development agenda in the Igan parliamentary area especially on basic infrastructure needs in rural areas.

“However, since I became the Igan MP, I fought for the education agenda as this is the most important agenda among many because the future of the Igan parliamentary area depends on today’s generation who must be an educated generation to ensure that the Igan area will continue to advance and develop in the future,” he said when met by the media at Borneo Convention Centre Kuching (BCCK) here earlier tonight.

Ahmad Johnie Zawawi

There is a total of 28,290 voters in P207 Igan.

This was the second time Ahmad Johnie and Hud Andri have faced each other in P207 Igan with the first time in GE14.

They both made their debut then where Ahmad Johnie, 60, had the upper hand over Andri, 50.

Ahmad Johnie polled 10,538 votes against Andri’s 2,043 votes, winning with a majority of 8,495 votes.

There are 28,290 voters in P207 Igan, of which 13,977 are male (49.41 per cent) and 14,313 are female (50.59 per cent).

Igan has two State constituencies — N43 Daro and N44 Jemoreng. — DayakDaily