12 finalists to compete in RTM’s Bidayuh Song Chart Awards on July 16

Front row, from left: Hazel, Marrill, Nasrul, Monica, Martina and George pose in a group photo with others after the press conference on ACLB 2022 held at RTM Kuching today (July 8, 2022).

By Nur Ashikin Louis

KUCHING, July 8: Twelve finalists will compete to become the winner of Radio Televisyen Malaysia’s (RTM) 8th Edition of the Bidayuh Song Chart Awards (ACLB) on July 16.

The show will take place at the P. Ramlee Auditorium, RTM Kuching, starting 8pm onwards.

Due to limited seating, members of the public who wish to attend physically can collect the free entrance pass to the event distributed at RTM Kuching’s Guard House starting July 6.

The ACLB will be aired live on WAIfm radio station and through the WAlfm Bidayuh Facebook page,

Apart from the use of social media and radio, the award show will also be recorded and, for the first time, will be broadcasted on TV Okey.

RTM Sarawak director Nasrul Hakim Md Noh said the 8th edition of the ACLB will serve as a good platform for artists and set a good standard for creating Bidayuh songs.

“After the show, RTM Sarawak will invite all the 12 finalists to do a re-recording and remastering of all the songs and produce a metadata music album,” he said at a press conference on ACLB 2022 held at RTM Kuching today.

The ACLB is the highlight of the weekly entertainment show ‘Carta Lagu Bidayuh’ produced by WAIfm Bidayuh, which is broadcast at 9.30am on Monday.

The 12 finalists are Adrian FJ with his song ‘Joget My Darling’, Abell (Pak Kiyak), D’ Helile (Metiek Maap Terima Kasih Pimaas), Elfie Elvis (Sarah Ku Jera), Olbin Nojes (Joget Nyindir Pesan), Rozzie Mila (Cinta Asungku), Johnny Tuk (Nampas Penguji), Vantino Naud (Stegar Ku Sasi), Michael Gayut (Aba Buhu), Vievyen G (My Dampu), SWAIV (Kajun Dawu) and ACID Rain (Tihi Tigahang).

Five panels of judges have been appointed, namely three internal jurors and two external jurors.

The winner will walk home with a RM5,000 cash prize and a trophy, including an extra award for the song composer, while second and third places will bring home RM3,000 and RM2,000 cash prizes, respectively, and trophies.

There will also be prizes for winners — RM1,000 and a trophy each — for the Best Vocal and Most Popular Song categories.

Additionally, other contestants will be given consolation prizes of RM1,000 and a trophy.

Amongst those present at the press conference were RTM chief assistant director (Radio Section) Marrill Chunggat; WAIfm manager Monica Midi; ALCB programme producer George Martin Howell; head of WAIfm Bidayuh Radio station Martina Naun, and WAIfm assistant producer Hazel Deyuys. — DayakDaily