Samy Vellu is now “Tun”

Fireworks - file pic. // Photo: Pixabay

Follow and subscribe to DayakDaily on Telegram for faster news updates.

KUALA LUMPUR: Three prominent figures were among 103 recipients conferred federal awards and honours for 2017 at Istana Negara here yesterday in conjunction with the birthday of Yang di-Pertuan Agong Sultan Muhammad V, reports Bernama.

They were Chief Justice Tun Md Raus Sharif and two former Cabinet ministers, Tun Michael Chen Wing Sum and Tun S. Samy Vellu. They were conferred the Seri Setia Mahkota (SSM), the nation’s highest award which carries the title ‘Tun’.

Md Raus, 66, was appointed Chief Justice on April 1 to replaced Tun Arifin Zakaria who retired.

Samy Vellu, 81, is Malaysia’s Special Envoy to Indian and South Asia for Infrastructure and was the longest serving Cabinet minister, starting as Minister of Public Works and Utilities in 1979 and leaving as Works Minister in 2008.

Michael Chen, 85, is a former deputy president of MCA and was appointed Dewan Negara president from 2000 to 2003. He had also held the post of Minister of Housing, Local Government and New Villages.

In conjunction with His Majesty’s birthday, 1,518 individuals were conferred federal awards and medals.

Besides the SSM, the investiture yesterday involved the Darjah Panglima Mangku Negara (PMN) award (three recipients), Darjah Panglima Setia Mahkota (PSM) (47 recipients), Darjah Panglima Jasa Negara (PJN) (42 recipients) and Darjah Panglima Setia Diraja (PSD) (eight recipients).

The PMN (which carries the title ‘Tan Sri’) recipients were Court of Appeal President Tan Sri Zulkefli Ahmad Makinudin, Armed Forces chief Gen Tan Sri Raja Mohamed Affandi Raja Mohamed Noor and Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Mohamad Fuzi Harun.

Among the recipients of the PSM, which also carries the title ‘Tan Sri’, were Communications and Multimedia Ministry secretary-general Tan Sri Dr Sharifah Zarah Syed Ahmad, Malaysian Rubber Board chairman Tan Sri Dr Muhammad Leo Michael Toyad Abdullah, Sabah Chief Minister Tan Sri Musa Aman, Dewan Negara president Tan Sri S.A Vigneswaran, Keeper of the Rulers’ Seal Tan Sri Syed Danial Syed Ahmad and Kuala Lumpur Mayor Tan Sri Mhd Amin Nordin Abd Aziz.

Among the recipients of the PJN, which carries the title ‘Datuk’, were Foreign Ministry secretary-general Datuk Ramlan Ibrahim, Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission deputy chief commissioner (Operations) Datuk Azam Baki, national badminton ace Datuk Lee Chong Wei and former MCA vice-president Datuk Woon See Chin.

Among the recipients of the PSD, which also carries the tittle ‘Tan Sri’, were Foreign Ministry Head of Protocol Datuk Kamilan Maksom; Private Secretary to the Chief Secretary to the Government, Datuk Norazman Ayob; and Negara Mining Sdn Bhd executive chairman Datuk Lam Yin Chon.